Gold Car Rental Malaga

WELCOME to goldcarmalaga

My very bad experience with Goldcar Rental Malaga, Spain.

Please REVIEW Goldcar Malaga carefully before booking a rental car

My hope is this review will help others avoid being ripped off by Goldcar in the future.

I booked a car for 1 week at Goldcar, Malaga. I should have done my homework first and looked at the reviews of this company. There are a lot of bad reviews and mine is no exception. 

Firstly, it was a bad start to my holiday when my wallet disappeared! When i get home from holidays and check my credit card, I had charges from Goldcar i was not expecting.

I was charged a lot for taking out the fuel (€31 for their Fast Returns System without taking into account any fuel used) and I was charged Eur446.47 for so called damage done to the Goldcar rental. When I picked up the car it was covered all over in marks, dents and scratches. i called the attendant over to show the other damage to the car. He imanually ammended the damage report to include the side and said the others were just small marks and didnt need to be added to the report. They dont seem to care much about the state of the cars they hand out. There was damage on all sides including the bonnet.

There was absolutely no additional damage incurred when i had the car up until I personally returned the car and handed back the keys. What annoys me is they didnt even check the car for any additional damage to what was already on the car after i handed it back, they just took the keys and said it was fine. At that point i should not be held responsible for the car. Any queries/disputes should be handled at the time of return by assessing the car against the damage report.

HERE IS THE EMAIL CORRESPONDANCE:

My initial email to them confirming the rear damage at time of pickup:

I am emailing as per a discussion I had with your help desk. My wallet was stolen while in Spain and I had to get a new credit card issued. I see that Eur130.22 was withdrawn for Diesel but have not seen the refund. There was more than   a tank of Diesel left when returned. The lady said that was refunded but I don’t see it when I look at my card online. 

Also, regarding the Eur446.47 for rear damage. When I picked up the car there was a lot of damage on all areas. The attached damage report shows the rear damage. I also had it updated to include the other side as there as further damage when I picked up the car. There was absolutely no additional damage incurred up until I personally returned the car and handed back the keys. I would like to see this refunded asap to my card. 

This is the formal email replly i got back from Goldcar customer service:

Thank you for your observations about your car hire experience with us.

Your opinion is important to us and is the key to our commitment to fulfill our customer’s expectations.               

You paid 116.22€ Flex Fuel for a full tank of fuel. The refund of 53.53€ to your credit card corresponds to the unused fuel (5/8 of a tank) on your contract.

Please remember that on your contract the fuel price is included in the “Flex Fuel” charge which takes into account not only the price of the tank of fuel, but also includes the logistical costs associated with our Fast Return System

The refund processed to your credit card is based solely on the cost of the tank of fuel and does not include the costs (31€)  associated with the Fast Returns System which you have enjoyed during your rental period.

All the information about the Fast Returns System and the associated costs are available on our webpage: www.goldcar.es/SDR 

Goldcar offers its customers the possibility to choose the vehicle that best adapts to their needs. This flexibility in our service includes the possibility to enjoy all the advantages and comfort of a vehicle with a diesel engine such as lower fuel consumption, lower fuel price and usually a more powerful engine.

According to the details in our system, you expressly requested a diesel vehicle and accepted and signed for the corresponding charge (14€) on your contract. Therefore we cannot refund this amount.

After receiving your query regarding the charge to your credit card and investigating the matter with the local office, we would like to inform you that the charge of 500€ corresponds to damage caused to our vehicle (left under door panel and left rear door).

We have checked the provided document and confirm that the damage on the rear door was marked by yourself on pick up day and signed by a Goldcar staff member. Therefore we just refunded you the corresponding cost of this damage.

But we have also to confirmed that the charge for the under door panel is a valid charge as the damage is not reflected on the check-out form you signed on collection of the car and as  you did not take out our Super Relax insurance, that covers this type of damage,  the charge can not be refunded.

We would like to thank you again for your time and your evaluation of our service.

We hope to see you again soon and remember, for any further information about your car hire, please visit our website www.goldcar.es

Regards,          

Tania

So im ok now with the high fuel charge. Here is my Response regarding the damage charge:

That is not acceptable. I don’t know where you are going with charging EUr446. 47! I can tell you there was no damage made to the car when I had possession of it and upon my return I was told to just leave the keys at the desk and I asked did they want to review the car and he said its fine.. Nobody at the time of drop off properly reviewed the car where I could have reviewed the damage which I was already aware what damage had been made to the car before I had it in my possession. It is your responsibility to review any damage other than what was noted when I dropped off the key. Further damage could have been made to the car after I returned the key.

When on the phone I was told that the damage was made to the rear of the car. Now im being vaguely told there was damage to the door. I saw that there were a lot of marks on all panels with larger ones to the rear door which I have marked on the damage report when picking up which is unusual for a rental. I have a lot of experience with getting damage repaired to cars I have purchased in the past as I personally wouldn’t drive any of my own cars with marks on it. Im very particular about the body work of any car I have in my possession and everyone in my party who were travelling with me were also surprised with the bad state the car was where there was a lot of damage. That is why I called an attendant over to the car to review and he only noted any large ones. Some were skipped over as they were smaller marks and there was also some scratch that was paint from some other car that would have rubbed off. This was also not noted.

If the charge is not returned I will be taking it further with my bank and also with my lawyer in Malaga who is ready to take this further if I don’t get any satisfaction. I hear that it’s a regular occurrence where customers are charged for damage to the cars when they know that there was no damage incurred during the rental period.  I rent a lot when in Malaga and this is the first time I rented with Goldcar and also the first after rental negative experience I have received. I looked at your company online and saw positive reviews from a lot of people so that it was a reputable company. I would suggest that like other companies, you assess the car when the keys are handed back to avoid issues like this later on. Also, have you heard of the saying when dealing with people that the customer is always right?

The response from Tania at cs@goldcar.com (goldcar customer service)

Thank you for your observations about your car hire experience with us.

Your opinion is important to us and is the key to our commitment to fulfill our customer’s expectations.             

As per our rental conditions, the amount charged to customers for damages to the vehicle is computed according to the assessment made by an independent adjuster. Alternatively, if an external assessment cannot be made, customers will be charged the amount resulting from a preliminary assessment made by qualified Goldcar staff, according to the rates published in Annex I of our online rental conditions.

We would like to thank you again for your time and your evaluation of our service.

We hope to see you again soon and remember, for any further information about your car hire, please visit our website www.goldcar.es

Here are other ex-customers of Goldcars not so nice experience:

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/forums/europe-western-europe/topics/goldcar-my-review

http://www.theguardian.com/money/2011/feb/19/car-hire-holidaymakers-goldcar

http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews236975.html

 

Quick Chat

Click to Chat

Message from Alan on November 10, 2015, 7:54 pm
Hi Dave, thanks for the heads-up on GoldCar rental in Malaga. I certainly know which company not to deal with should I rent a car in Spain.

Contact details for Goldcarmalaga

Contact:Dave Jackson
Address:

Cork
Ireland
Email:djackson@europe.com

Direct Message





 

Fields with * are required fields


Create your free site on myinfo.ie

Page created and rendered - Cache bypassed [0.00814s]

Refresh: None